LegalEasy Episode #11: What to Do After an Auto Accident
Kevin Mahoney sits down with Diane Tiveron to discuss what to do when asked to submit to a breathalyzer and the effect of a DWI on your ability to drive. Take a listen!
Diane Tiveron talks with Civil Litigation Chair Steven Cohen about what your rights are when stopped by the police. Listen here.
You need to purchase optional SUM insurance on your auto liability policy to protect you from drivers who do not carry enough insurance. New York law requires that you have auto liability insurance coverage. The minimum amount of liability coverage is:
- $10,000 for property damage for a single accident
- $25,000 for bodily injury and $50,000 for death for a person involved in an accident
- $50,000 for bodily injury and $100,000 for death for two or more people in an accident
A car accident, regardless of the severity, is a frightening and stressful event for an individual to experience. Unfortunately, the winter months bring increased risks for accidents due to the weather and the hazardous road conditions it causes.
No matter how calm and collected you may be in your everyday life, a serious accident can easily leave you feeling panicked and confused.
After being in a car accident, your life can become difficult. You may have injuries that require months or years of recovery, operations or other treatments. You may be limited by your new disabilities or have to miss social gatherings due to pain or other issues.
Western New York is known for its severe winter weather, and this year has certainly brought its fair share of cold weather and winter storms. Winter weather often creates slippery conditions that can significantly increase the risk of injury due to slip and falls or motor vehicle accidents
Using a hand held mobile device while driving (phone, text, email), the penalty for a first offense still involves a maximum fine of a $150 fine plus surcharges. The point violation increases from three to five points for offenses committed on or after June 1, 2013.
As of the end of September, 2012, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles has new regulations pertaining to drivers with multiple alcohol/drug-related driving convictions. This is a logical result from the increasing sanctions that pertain to Driving While Intoxicated or Driving While Impaired by Drugs offenses enacted by the Legislature.