That Phone Call Might Cost You!
On February 16, 2011, the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles announced that it will be imposing a two-point penalty, in addition to the $100 fine already in effect, for drivers caught talking on their hand-held cell phones while driving. New York was the first state in the country to ban hand-held phone use while driving in 2001 in an attempt to decrease the number of driver distracted accidents. Today however, one in five car accidents is driver distraction related. New York is hoping that by adding the points punishment, drivers will obey the laws more seriously.
This new rule will make it the same number of points for texting while driving, although texting and driving comes with a fine of $150. Drivers who collect eleven penalty points in eighteen months may face a suspension of their license. Points can add up quickly, so think before you pick up that call!